casconsulting.blogg.se

Load plex media server on external hard drive
Load plex media server on external hard drive











load plex media server on external hard drive

Upon trying to change the group I was modifying permissions for, a message came up stating I do not have permission to change the group. I tried changing the file access to read and write and that seemed to work but had no effect on Plex. I plan on this getting me back into linux and eventually being proficient enough to help others like you all helped me.Įdit: I followed instructions and immediately hit a wall at step 2 trying to edit permissions. I was running Ubuntu fulltime ~13 years ago as a young nerdy kiddo and abandoned it when my mom got me a Macbook for graduating high school early so I forgot most of what I had learned. No clue why that syntax made any sort of difference, but it did.Įither way, I really appreciate the assistance so much from you all. For some reason, Ubuntu didn't like "/media/HDD-M" but once I changed it to "/media/SG" it worked without issue. Just like that, it read and streamed without a hitch. After following response I realized the original guide I found may have allowed me to screw things up so I followed it backwards and undid everything before trying the link you posted which worked after I messed with the mount point renaming a bit until Ubuntu was satisfied with my efforts.

load plex media server on external hard drive

Following that new mount point would lead me to my drive and allow access but made no difference to Plex. It did seem to work but Plex was still blind. I didn't get email notifications with updates to the question for some reason so I just checked and got it all I did manually create an actual mount point under "/media/HDD-M" (HDD-M s the drive name, HDD-Movies) through the initial guide I referenced.

load plex media server on external hard drive

Edit2 (SUCCESS): First off, thank you to all who responded! I got my Plex server working perfectly.













Load plex media server on external hard drive